Dont take this seriously….because i dont !!

TGO – Wet boots

This weekend i argued mainly about boots for the TGO. T-dude an experienced long distance hiker thinks i am daft to go with anything other than a full leather boot. Myself i hate them, they are heavy, stiff  and give me plenty of blisters…

The most comfy boots/shoes/trainers i have ever owned have been the North Face Hedgehogs. They are also a lot lighter than a full leather boot and a lot cheaper. They have a waterproof goretex liner but i know from experience they can only take so much before the water gets in. Now i imagine the TGO is going to be the biggest test ever on my boots for the waterproofability (is that even a word?). and even a full leather would struggle to stay dry.

So i have decided to explore ways of getting my boots and socks dry after each day on the trail. I am carrying a bush buddy so the two things that will be in abundance will be fuel(wood) and water. I have plenty of ideas and over the next few weeks i am going to test a few out.

2 responses

  1. I used some lightweight goretex, fibre-type boots on this year’s TGO (berghaus) and they were comfy and my feet stayed dry and I had no blisters or, in fact, any foot problems at all (which is a bit unusual). The only problem was that they kept dumping me on my arse. I got quite paranoid on steep grass. At least I would have died with dry feet, though.

    November 23, 2009 at 4:33 pm

  2. ukmase

    Well thats good to here, i spent an hour in an Edale pub on Saturday arguing with myself that fibre type boots were an option……Mind you i was sat with soaking feet thanks to my NF Hedgehogs being comprimised by mother nature…..

    November 23, 2009 at 9:59 pm

Leave a Reply

