Dont take this seriously….because i dont !!

TGO Kit – Rucksack

I have been looking about on the internet just out of interest with regards to lightweight rucksacks and the Osprey packs seem to pretty popular. The Aether 60 would probably suit me best and comes in at 1870g fully featured.

 There are lighter packs out there but they tend to come with a compromise. The OMM Villain 45+10 RL looked very handy and light at 1160g which can be stripped down to 710g but this requires leaving behind a few bits that would leave you feeling uncomfortable.

 Lightweight is great but not as a compromise, so am I left pondering the need for a new pack.

 I bought a North Face Prophet 65L pack a few years ago with the knowledge that it could take me anywhere I ever dreamed of, in fact I saw it on an Everest summit picture a few months ago. But this whole light weight ethos had blinded me and so I was tempted to go open my wallet again on a backpack.

Taking a look back on my blog I spotted my 4 key features which I vowed to follow when I started this whole outdoor thing on mine, so it seems I will be taking my trusty Prophet pack across Scotland safe in the knowledge that I saved £130 quid which could buy me a flight back to Morocco to play with some real mountains.

 By the way the Prophet is the greatest pack ever made and comes fully fitted with more features than a BMW 7 series and weighs in at a tender 1870g. Anyone who says different can go whistle (oh yeah its got a whistle on the chest strap).

The money saved on a backpack could take me back here !!!

5 responses

  1. titaniumdude

    Osprey trumps ’em all. Where’s the water bottle gonna go on the prophet? Just A thought since a hydration pack would be a heavyweight extravagance in Scotland where it’s 90% water anyways. 🙂

    December 9, 2009 at 11:56 pm

  2. ukmase

    I am thinking of getting a travel tap bottle from backpackinglight.com which will be stored in one of the 2 wand pockets t-dude.
    I have also seen a good tip of Colin Ibitson’s site, he uses a modified freezer bag to store his camp water, now thats lightweight. I’ve tried it as well and it works fine.

    December 10, 2009 at 9:13 am

  3. Dude, if you want a big pack try the Berghaus Expedition pack, “Thomas Huber threw one to a free fall of 4500 feet to the Parbat Glacier. He reached the Shivling summit through a new route and when he came down to the base camp he arrived with the back pack. It was hurt… but not broken.” Mine just won’t die!

    And how about the OMM Mountain Mover 55l +10, lightweight and practical, I’ve got TNF Skareb 55, it’s a flight series pack, light and a little different the Haglofs LIM borrows heavily off it’s design!

    January 10, 2010 at 5:44 pm

  4. Phil Walker

    I just bought a Mountain Mover, first outing at the weekend, so I’ll report back how I get on with it :0)

    February 17, 2010 at 11:36 pm

  5. ukmase

    Look forward to it Phil, it looks a gret pack.

    February 18, 2010 at 6:43 pm

Leave a Reply

