Dont take this seriously….because i dont !!

Captains Cook tries snowboarding

 Driving to Great Ayton this morning I was glad I had not bothered trying to get to Wales, the A19 was treacherous and it took me twice as long to drive.On the way I popped into Go Outdoors and picked up a pair of Rab Labtok Gaiters for £10 reduced from £40. Go outdoors is mainly packed full of crap you really shouldn’t buy, but every now and again a good deal comes along and if your quick you will get a bargain.

Once I had digged myself out of the car park I headed for Newton under Roseberry and parked up on the roadside. Only a 4×4 would make it into the car park. I threw on my winter gear and head off for my usual first port of call, Roseberry Topping. I picked the steepest slope and practised kicking steps, it reminded me of the slog up Toubkal last year (same kind of snow). A chap on the top took some pictures of me bringing some mountaineering to the NY moors and after a brief chat I headed off to Captains Cook Monument.

The slog to Captains Cook Monument was a real tester, I was walking through knee to waist high untouched snow and it was bloody hard work, much harder than the previous weekend. When I reached the car park on Dikes Lane I had burned off all the energy form my breakfast and sat down to enjoy some food and stick an extra layer on. The gaiters I had bought had proven to be perfect for today’s conditions and my feet remained dry and warm,

On the way up to the monument I was passed by two snowboarders enjoying the conditions. The pictures show the views from the monument and they were something special today. I decided the tramp to Guisborough Moor would prove fruitless as the snow was too deep to even think about trying to locate the cairn under all the snow. Shame though as I have visited the top before and the views to the coast are unbroken.

Walking back to the car I decided to head for Great Ayton and enjoyed the picturesque village being coated in a blanket of virgin white snow. Two great weekends on the trot from the North York Moors – I very underrated part of the country.

 
Summary 
Route Distance: 12.9 km Time: 4:12  
Total Ascent: 420 m Total Descent: 420 m

 

5 responses

  1. Looks good fun, I’ve spent the weekend on the sofa, got a bloody lovely throat infection! Hopefully it will clear up and let me get out this coming weekend, speak soon mate!

    January 10, 2010 at 5:35 pm

  2. ukmase

    Chicken soup mate, the cure for all illnesses

    January 10, 2010 at 7:03 pm

  3. No went hardcore, and contrary to the song the drugs DO work!!

    January 11, 2010 at 11:15 am

  4. ukmase

    Intresting fact, that song was written by Richard Ashcroft in response to his father dying.

    January 11, 2010 at 1:15 pm

  5. Strange thought it was about man flu!! ;o)

    January 12, 2010 at 3:49 pm

Leave a Reply

