Dont take this seriously….because i dont !!

Epic

I have just finished reading Epic Stories of survival from the worlds highest peak. The book is a collection of extracts from other books put together by Clint Willis.  With stories from the likes of Joe Tasker, Eric Shipton and Greg Child to name a few. It’s a great read and the short stories from each book make for a nonstop action packed read.

It always amazes me how tough these unassuming guys are, they are real men cut from rock face itself and made of sterner stuff than the normal endurance athletes. Some of the hardships they have endured are pretty much as close to death as your are likely ever to read about. I fully recommend this book to anyone with a interest in mountaineering, 9/10.

—-

Training

I have booked in a personal trainer to help me create a gym based training plan to get me ready for rock climbing and build on the mountaineering strength I have already built up.  The Iron gym is a killer workout and I am already feeling a lot stronger in the upper body because of it. However this is only the start, I have such a long way to go.

I sent my mountain guide friend IanS an email today enquiring about the Cullin Ridge, it has been put off too long, lets hope he is not fully booked up.

4 responses

  1. Try; Kiss Or Kill – Confessions of a Serial Climber by Mark Twight, it’s a great read! It’s just a collection of articles on alpinism and his thoughts on climbing!

    Personal Trainer, how very metro sexual ;o) You’ll be discussing hand care soon! Remember they are selling product, they want you back next session at the gym!

    Have you got something like this near you?

    http://www.outdoor-extreme.com/stalbans/

    tyre flipping, sand bags, keg throwing!!

    See the comment on Kettlebells, “Thanks to their versatility and challenging shape, kettlebells burn more calories than other pieces of exercise equipment and get you in shape quicker.”

    January 13, 2010 at 1:14 pm

  2. ukmase

    hhe trainer costs £11, and its a one of session to design the plan. SHe wont be there shouting encouragement.

    Its not really the sort of gym you think it is, it is a non profit school community project. I have never signed up a for a gym in my life. I save my pennies and done my own thing,

    January 13, 2010 at 2:14 pm

  3. The gym, the women who ‘train’ in full make up yet never sweat, the guy who grunts like a power lifter pushing weights that are emabarassing, the guy who struts in front of the mirror, the people who walk on the treadmill. We have a guy at our work gym who says “fuck yeah” everytime he pushes a weight, comical!

    I loathe gyms! Does it show? I once asked a guy if he was going to train or just sit on the machine! After being lectured by personal trainers on the stupidity of five fingers, I gave them my two fingers!

    January 13, 2010 at 5:03 pm

  4. ukmase

    Does it show…..not at all 🙂

    January 13, 2010 at 8:55 pm

Leave a Reply

