Dont take this seriously….because i dont !!

LFTO

This has to be the dullest, worst run, badly designed internet forum ever. The same old crap about trolling, cliques and my dads bigger than your dad bullsh1t  has made the site fall to new lows.

Its all there for the owners to make a great site; a national magzine plugging the site, outdoor journalists contributing, a dedicated forum manager and what have they accomplished…..well take a look at a few of the threads and you will see what i mean.

Honestly if you want to see a well run forum then take a look at Walking Forum, Chris who runs the show has the mods well on the ball and the discussion flows well from all parties.

I speak to quite a few LFTO regulars and they all seem to be getting a bit fed up with the whole thing. I think the future of the outdoor/internet connection is in blogging. The content from bloggers keeps me reading day after day, and there are none of the old forum politics to bog things down. Sure people argue but its done with a common decency. Maybe its because the people blogging dont hide behind mutilple forum persona’s from their mams spare bedroom.

I myself have had fallouts through forums with people i have never met, which quite frankly is a bit sad and embarrassing. But its not as embarrasing as hiding behind internet persona’s.

Anyway rant over, if you enjoy forums then craic on, you will find me doing my own thing and writing on this little outdoor diary of mine.

Peace

8 responses

  1. peter crawford

    I generally agree with the caveat that not all of us hide behind multiple i.ds . I have never done that on any forum, always using a version of my real name at all times. On Fanbase I am PeteCFC, on Richard Dawkins Website I am Pete Crawford, Etc….
    Incidentally in the wider world a poster using a second user name is called a sockpuppet. LFTO is full of sockpuppets that even a child could spot. The management do nothing to stop it yet are quite happy to ban open and honest posters without warning or reason given. As you say a shoddily run forum.
    I notice they are now amusing themselves by reviving the threads of long-banned posters. Pathetic really.
    As you say one of the shoddiest forums on the whole web.

    January 15, 2010 at 3:17 pm

  2. ukmase

    LOL the link showing the squabbles has been deleted….

    “Those who restrain their desires, do so because theirs is weak enough to be restrained.”

    January 15, 2010 at 4:35 pm

  3. Phil Walker

    Hi there ukMase!

    Found your blog via Terrys, and have added to my list to watch with interest. I’m keen to see how you get on with training for and competeing in the TGO challenge, good luck with that.

    As for LFTO, it is quite frankly the biggest pile of crap going. If you look at it lately, though why you’d want to I dont know, now all the infighting seems to have gone away, the post count per day has dropped massively.

    As you rightly point out,, the site itself with its ungainly interface that doesnt work, despite repeated complaints, leaves much to be desired. It could be oh-so-much better.

    As for people getting banned, dont get me started…….!!

    Look forward to seeing your progress.

    Cheers
    Phil

    February 9, 2010 at 12:43 pm

    • ukmase

      Cheers Phil, i have been a bit quite lately on my blog but i got sick of training report and how many chin ups and sit ups i am up to…..ZZzzzz

      The TGO itself is something i cannot wait for, it will be nice to meet some real outdoor folks.

      As for LFTO….well i hate to rant but FFS its awful.

      February 9, 2010 at 8:59 pm

  4. Phil Walker

    Aye, I know what you mean, started a traning diary on the running forum I am a member of last year, but it got a bit tedious…… especially when you’d just got back for a run!

    It does look like a fantastic event. I;m nowhere near that level of fitness yet, but, now I’ve had my shoulder sorted, I’m working on it, so maybe sometime in the near future……. started a bit of off road running now with an aim to buiding up to hitting the fells, I figure that if I run, and hillwalk, then why not combine them both!

    I put a few posts on yesterday, and on Monday posted some pictures of the most fantastic inversion I have ever seen On Cader Idris on Sunday, one of those special days you’ll never forget, but only Terry bothered to put a reply……. it has gone really, really dire. I think I have got the same way as some others were, and every time I see a “what tent” or “what rucksack” or “advice needed for the weekend” thread, the only think I feel like posting is a big arrow pointing to the search button….. same threads, different day. Ho Hum. And you;re right on the blogs, I have followed one of two, V-G in particular, and it is definitely the future.

    Outdoor forums? I’d rather be in the hills ;0)

    February 10, 2010 at 7:06 am

    • ukmase

      I still read Walking Forum because people make an effort with the trip reports which i enjoy. Other than that Peaceful Hiker has good banter and is troll free, oh and the admin guys dont smoke pole for a living unlike a few i have had dealings with before at LFTO.

      Other good blogs include PTC, didnothingfatal, nothernpies, minimalgear, colin ibbotson, chris townsend and ive just joined terrybnd’s.

      Running is a great evercise, it got me fit last year, this year is all strength work adding to cardio….zzzzz…anyway

      February 10, 2010 at 9:46 am

  5. Phil Walker

    Nice one, thanks for the heads up on those blogs, I’ll take a look later today.

    I still have a look on walking forum today cos some good mates who defected from LFTO are about there, so its nice to keep in touch. And yeah, people there seem to prefer trip reports to “what tent this week……” 😉

    Peaceful Hikers, well, you know how things were with myself and some of them on LFTO, so I’m maybe not welcome there…… I have no beef with any on them though, and if Im honest, I firmly beleive the wrong folk got banned from LFTO……

    February 10, 2010 at 12:29 pm

    • peter crawford

      Hiya Masey and Phil

      My tent is better than your tent. Our team of highly qualified tentologists took 243 tents into a field near Matlock. What they found astonished even our most seasoned tentists. The tents contained living human beings.

      A tent expert explained “the hypothalamus is the brain section that deals with love, fear, disgust, and tents”

      And now back to the studio…

      February 10, 2010 at 7:46 pm

Leave a Reply

