Dont take this seriously….because i dont !!

Alpkit delivery

At last my patience has delivered the rewards. I have waited probably 7 months for Alpkit to get some Filo down jackets in stock. So it was with great pleasure this morning that my waiting list email came through and I hit that order button.

An XL was ordered in blue ice colour, it should match my NF Mammatus jacket.

I came close to breaking just before Christmas after a friend put me on to some great jackets from PHD and Berghaus, but I held out. I am not I disputing that the PHD jacket is the best out there but lets put this into perspective.

PHD Alpine Down Jacket 660 grams, £202

Alpkit Filo Jacket, 740 grams, £75

If I was climbing Alpine peaks every weekend or off to Alaska then I probably would have went for the PHD jacket, but for occasional use in British mountains I think there was only one sensible option. £127 saved, result.

5 responses

  1. ukmase

    I have just realied i could buy a PHD ultradown vest for money saved.

    January 15, 2010 at 9:50 am

  2. peter crawford

    What is PHD ? BTW the use of TLA’s (three letter acronyms) is too widespread IMO. LOL and ATB.
    Pete

    January 15, 2010 at 2:57 pm

  3. ukmase

    FFS Pete

    http://www.phdesigns.co.uk/

    January 15, 2010 at 4:20 pm

  4. Yeah you can get a phd in the post call yourself a doctor and get tv show, stack of books, food line, etc. etc. and look at poos, just ask Gillian McKeith, anyway some fun reading here

    http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/2007/feb/12/advertising.food

    January 20, 2010 at 11:12 pm

  5. ukmase

    What a pile of shite.

    January 21, 2010 at 12:34 pm

Leave a Reply

