Dont take this seriously….because i dont !!

Fighting fit – Rysy

Well the Tamiflu course has worked and i am feeling the best I have in years. Lost a stone while I was off sick had to hit the sunbed shop as I looked seriously gaunt and green after the bout of flu.
The gym sessions are paying off in barrels, I do a 2 hour workout devised by a personal trainer. The first hour is cardio and strength training to get me ready for the TGO challenge and also the National 3 peak challenge being organised by Radder on the Walkingforum. The second hour is weights designed to get me ready for rock climbing, mainly forearms, biceps, lats and back.

At home I do a few 30 minute workouts during the day with dumbbells, medicine balls and iron gym. On the iron gym front I am improving everyday with the pull up exercises but i feel a lot of pain in my arms for an hour afterwards, but I guess that means I am getting results.

IanS and myself are just putting dates together for the Cullin Ridge, hopefully we can get this sorted as it is one of my main goals for this year.

I am also planning a summit of Poland’s highest mountain Rysy in September, 2,503 m (8,210 ft). It ties in nicely with my mates stag weekend in Krakow and hopefully I will be able to hook up with Lysagora from the Peaceful Hikers forum. I have put the question to a few of my mates to see if I can lure them into the mountains and hopefully get them interested.

€€

4 responses

  1. glad to hear you survived! Training sounds like it is coming on too! Only way to get strong or climbing though is climb ;o)

    January 24, 2010 at 11:25 pm

  2. Gemma

    Glad to here that the medicine has worked its magic…Mum reckons you didn’t have swine flu though :0) It sounds as though you are doing really well with the exercising but remember sunbeds kill!!!! I am very jealous of your efforts and after a week sitting in a car I could certainly do with some motivation to do something similar. Thank you for your updates on the blog I am glad to here you have been reding it. I have been following yours lately as well. I am going to try and get a skype call to Mum while you are there with Thomas to see him with his presents…it will mean getting up very early! Thinking of calling between 6pm to 7pm. Hopefully you will still be there then and it will be better as Mum has a camera on her computer.
    Keep going with the fitness big bro! Remember no pain, no gain!!

    Gemma xx

    January 25, 2010 at 3:54 am

    • ukmase

      Training is going great, its Brieton gym i have been using. Apparently you used to use it a while ago. Its got a good feel about it and no primadonas posing in front of mirrors.

      Paul – I have been in touch with the climbing wall and the lessons are booked, they also mentioned some outdoor practice sessions if all goes well. For now i will be just happy to put my hands on the wall and get going.

      January 25, 2010 at 10:33 pm

  3. good luck, have faith in your partner, and expect to hurt in the strangest of places!

    January 27, 2010 at 7:11 pm

Leave a Reply

