Dont take this seriously….because i dont !!

10k run and Who needs Slimming World.

At Christmas I weighed in at 15 1/2 stone, my fitness training started at this time. And included the iron gym, press ups, weights, gym sessions, running and hiking.

I never wanted to lose any weight so it came as a bit of a surprise yesterday when I jumped onto my mothers digital scales and came in a 14st 4lbs.

My other half has been on the slimming world plan and has lost close to a stone. I have been eating my usual junk but ive notve not had to endure food hardship like her. This kind of proves to me that the best way to lose weight is in fact exercise. But I suppose each person has their own agenda on this, it’s what suits you best that matters.

I am considering a few pointers from the primal blueprint that my mate lostme adopted a few months ago, it does make interesting reading but I don’t agree with all the points he makes,

Yesterday I took Pepper jogging along the Seaton beach which came in at just short of 10k. No problems with this at all so I am considering a half marathon being my next logical step.

The irongym has brought great results, this is the strongest I have ever been and I cannot recommend this simple piece of equipment enough.

17 responses

  1. Cool, I’m upping the Kettlebell to 24kg, going to stretch my arms I reckon! I’ve nearly shrugged by my chest infection, so will hopefully start training again this week. Long bike sessions and stumbling around the woods in the five fingers! The 121km sportive seems to be racing up on me!

    March 15, 2010 at 1:27 pm

  2. ukmase

    Ive took on one of Groks primal tips, training in the back garden is the way foward. Its a great way to blow away the cobwebs.

    March 15, 2010 at 8:46 pm

  3. Garden, Park, just outside! Kettlebell in park gets too many looks, especially with five fingers on the feet! Gym is for metrosexuals FACT!

    March 16, 2010 at 12:16 am

  4. Oh yeah the Primal Blueprint book is available on Amazon, fantastic read, complete rethink on a load of stuff!

    March 16, 2010 at 12:18 am

  5. ukmase

    He has some good things to say, but i am not convinced on his diet ideas. I was watching some primal challenges on youtube, urban workouts etc, pretty cool and intense.

    March 16, 2010 at 8:47 am

  6. The book explains the diet much better, you feel great on the diet, I miss sugar somedays, but now add a little honey to my odd coffee. The diet basically amounts to meat, fish, fruit and veg, seeds and nuts. Everything organic, and then longish wanderings, lift heavy stuff. My only concern with it all is training for endurance bike events. We shall see! It suits my believe we are overdeveloping stuff, so they advocate barefoot, and I always prefer riding singlespeed mountain bikes :o)

    March 16, 2010 at 10:23 am

  7. ukmase

    He is not hot on grains on his blog. I have never tried a diet before, ive not really had the need to. Your comment about feeling great though intrests me, are you saying you feel mentally better as well as physically.

    March 16, 2010 at 10:55 am

  8. peter crawford

    I am feeling mentally better ever since I stopped watching Newsnight.

    Physically I am working out a bit and have started to grow shoulders.

    Exercise of any kind has always been the best way to keep fit. Sadly I can’t think of a way to spin that simple sentence into a best-selling book. Bummer.

    March 16, 2010 at 10:51 pm

  9. I feel just way better, maybe it’s a complete package training and eating healthy, so much veg and fruit, smoothie make and steamer are on overdrive! The issue with grain is they play with your insulin levels and that helps the body store fat. Additionally we never ate grain like we do today at any point in our evolution, so why are we recommended to eat grain, pressure groups, so they give advice to do this and that becasue the fundamentals are incorrect??

    March 17, 2010 at 2:01 pm

  10. peter crawford

    Grains and pulses (legumes) are good for humans but do not provide all you require by any means. Stone age people lived on little else and that was one of the reasons their life expectancy was about 35 years. The other reason is the subject of some controversy and should be discussed elsewhere.

    Read Ray Mears views on the subject of nutrition then dismiss it entirely. He is completely wrong. A believer in the “Myth of the of the Noble Savage” as Steven Pinker has it. Mears is a twat as is that other idiot who keeps getting filmed dancing with natives and eating hallucinogenic insects and claiming he’s discovered his inner self.

    March 17, 2010 at 3:53 pm

  11. ukmase

    Pete….Oiy Mears you twat, leave it out

    Ray…..yes sir

    *This thread has offically more posts than PCH this week !

    March 17, 2010 at 5:03 pm

  12. All depends on who you believe and who you don’t, I’m trying this new ‘lifestyle’, the theory on exercise is completely off the wall, but thankfully I can still play with my kettlebells 😮

    Some stuff here though

    http://www.marksdailyapple.com/why-grains-are-unhealthy/

    http://www.marksdailyapple.com/definitive-guide-grains/

    still gotta establish is Skateboarding a primal exercise, as all I remember is “Skateboarding Isn’t A Crime”, and I got given a board last night 😉

    WTF is PCH????

    March 17, 2010 at 9:26 pm

  13. peter crawford

    That’s right, Mears is a tart and a fat little bugger too for all his bloody lingonberries and “how to make a salmon hook out of the nearest tree” antics.

    We are still Peaceful Hikers.

    March 17, 2010 at 9:44 pm

  14. Was I censored 😕

    March 18, 2010 at 9:36 am

  15. ukmase

    No – unless you used the words sh1t stabber, like a certain Mr Crawford earlier. I’ve checked the logs and none of your posts have been touched by accident, whats missing ?

    March 18, 2010 at 12:50 pm

  16. ukmase

    Ahh found it……all is well in the world again.

    Peaceful Hiker

    March 18, 2010 at 5:34 pm

  17. oh right! I remember them 😉

    March 19, 2010 at 11:14 am

Leave a Reply

