Dont take this seriously….because i dont !!

Alpkit Airo 120

I took delivery today of the new Alpkit Airo 120 2/3  sleeping mat. The wee airic which I had a several problems with is now discontinued. I actually loved the mat when it worked but it let me down too many times as you can see here.

This new mat costs £35 which is an increase but straight away you can see the difference in quality from the wee airic. The 33D Mini Ripstop Nylon feels stronger and nicer to touch. The mat comes with a stuff sack with compression strap and a nice feature is the addition of a small pouch inside the sack where the repair kit can be stashed. The sack is also smaller than the previous range so  you can stow it away nice and small.The valve seems a lot better quality than the wee-airic.

I really wanted a neo-air but the greedy buggers set the price too high, I can afford the neo-air but I refuse to be bent over backwards on price. Alpkit did replaced my 2 faulty wee-airics and I placed my faith in their new mats even though I was offered a full refund. Time will tell and I will report back with my usual no bullshit review after the airo has been out and about on at least a National Trail.

Specifications Airo 120

  • Weight (gr): 399
  • Thickness (cm): 2.5
  • Real World Packed Weight (gr) 439
  • Dimensions (cm): 120 x 51 x 2.5
  • Min Rolled size (cm): 28 x 12
  • Realistic Rolled size (cm): 28 x 14
  • 33D Mini Ripstop Nylon
  • Expected R value 2.5
  • Repair kit included
  • Update August 2010

    No issues as yet with the airo 120. A few wild camps have brought no issues. I like the way the repair kit tucks into the bottom of the stuff sack. It seems a lot toughter than the old wee-airic. All good up to now.

    4 responses

    1. Phil

      Looks good mate, keep us posted on that. My Slim Aeric failed recently, but has had two years of being rammed into a 45l sack with all my other kit, so its done well to be fair, these look like a good replacment.

      June 16, 2010 at 1:29 pm

      • ukmase

        They certainly look a lot better quality than the previous range of Alpkit mats. I’m glad they have come back with a new range of mats, Thermarest need someone to challenge their greedy pricing scheme.

        June 16, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    2. Interesting that, Masey.

      I liked my previous two Wee Airics – both failed after just three or four trips.

      You say these feel that bit tougher? Good.

      Bearing that in mind……fold it up and slot it in your hydration pouch on your rucksack. Saves lots of space, mate 😉

      June 16, 2010 at 9:04 pm

    3. ukmase

      The proof is in the pudding as they say………i wont pass full judgement until its been used and abused.

      June 16, 2010 at 10:53 pm

    Leave a Reply

    