Dont take this seriously….because i dont !!

North Face Hedgehogs XCR mids

After close to four years service my faithful Hedgehogs have come to an untimely end. So now I thought it fit to look back at my old boots in a kind of review/reminiscence style.

I bought these for £50 from Millets back when I didn’t know the difference between crampon compatible boots and a pair of sandals. They were pounded around 3 National Trails, a TGO crossing and several over adventures of note. I loved these boots and I was desperate to get them across Scotland for the TGO. But Scotland eventually pounded my boots into submission on the outskirts of Bramear, even some emergency boot triage involving 10 meters of gaffer tape could not save them. So here is my review based on many miles of experience.

Soles – The Vibram soles look like they could do another 1000 miles easily. I found them to be grippy and I wore them year round up until crampon season. The inner soles are some of the best I’ve seen, really comfy and durable.

Waterproofness – The Gore-Tex inners worked great at the start, but after a year or so my feet would get damp every now and again. I suppose everything fades with time, having a great big rip in the front of the boot is certainly something which  affects the waterproofness of the boot !

Fit – Quite simply the most comfortable boots/shoes/trainers ever to grace my plates of meat. Think the original Nike Air Max and your on the right lines. The mids are a cross between hiking boots and trail trainers. They have a lower boot line than a normal hiking boot but this gives your extra freedom when you are walking. However you also need to factor in ankle support, if you have ankles like Bambi then maybe these are not for you.

Would I recommend these to others….your damn right. If you are starting out and are looking for a boot that can deal with anything outside of winter then look no further. For the price you get an honest, comfy boot that feels a delight to walk in. There is no point in comparing them to a leather boot as frankly they both have good points and bad points that could keep a bunch of hikers arguing long into the night. Comparing them to trail trainer’s is another argument entirely…..I will report back on this in a year once my Innov8 Roclite’s have been given a real test!

 

4 responses

  1. I have a pair of the hedgehogs but the trainer version and I can’t sing their praises loudly enough. They’ve yomped all over the world over miles and miles and they are still in one piece! I went to get another pair before I went away recently but they didn’t have my size in stock so I ended up getting a different pair of North Face trainers. I’m gutted as they’re not a patch on teh hedgehogs. They’ll be the next ones I get – after all why fix what’s not broken?

    July 7, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    • ukmase

      I have been looking for a pair of the mids for a while now, it looks like they have discontinued them…..Maybe i will find a few pairs to stock up with.
      Nicer report on your blog about Kili – very intresting.

      July 7, 2010 at 2:08 pm

  2. Best trail shoes I ever had were the Hedgehogs…..good all rounder.

    As for your comment on damp feet in them…did you not ever clean the inside out? Sweat etc can clog the breathabillity of Gore, mate

    July 8, 2010 at 9:29 pm

  3. Pingback: TGO Challenge Day 9 – White Bridge to Braemar « UKmase

Leave a Reply

