Dont take this seriously….because i dont !!

Trail trainer’s

This is not something new to the outdoor world but it’s certainly new to me. Previously I wore North Face Hedgehog Mids which worked really well for me. The goretex inner was not perfect but it did a decent job at keeping my feet dry. unfortunately these boots recently died a magnificent death on the TGO Challenge. It was at this time I decided to take some advice from the fellow challengers. After discussing the merits of trail trainers in the Fife Arms in Braemar I decided I would give them a whirl.

I choose the Innov8 Roclite 320’s mainly because they don’t have an inner goretex liner so you can dry your trainers as you walk, and secondly because the shop was lacking in choice !!

I walked the second half of the TGO in the Roclites with seal skinz socks. This combination worked really well for me and my initial worries of the socks causing damp sweaty feet were unsubstantiated. Its a combo I will be using in the future and its great being able to walk straight through streams and puddles, the water actually cools your feet but the sock keeps out the water, a nice combo indeed.

My only niggles are the cushioning in the foot beds came detached but the nice people at Innov8 sent we some new footbeds for free. The laces are a bit short too but apart from this I am generally enjoying the whole trail trainer experience.

8 responses

  1. Good choice. My current trail shoe and proving to be superb.

    July 6, 2010 at 8:54 pm

  2. I use the same combo, too Masey.

    Them Sealskinz socks are the dogs. Comfy as owt….shame their other products are naff.

    July 8, 2010 at 9:23 pm

  3. Hey, you’ll wear them Inov8 out soon! Hope you’re well, had a weird few months, congrats on the TGO! Will speak soon, I’m a man of leisure for the summer :o)

    July 13, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    • Paul Mason

      I was wondering when you were going to resurface mate. All is well at Mason Mansion’s….still getting out and about.

      Anyway dont be a stranger, hope to speak soon, we need to take advantage fo this new found “man of leisure” status !!!

      July 13, 2010 at 6:51 pm

      • Paul

        Yeah, will get used to my new status, dead on my feet currently, stress leaving me by the day! Quite nice get up run, bike, lift weights, going kayaking. Will call next week and plan an adventure 🙂

        July 15, 2010 at 10:38 pm

  4. Pingback: TGO Challenge Day 9 – White Bridge to Braemar « UKmase

  5. Wurz

    Masey how have the Inov 8’s been now you’ve had em a while? I’m thinking of getting a pair I’ve been so impressed with the x talon 212s that I’ve been using on Dartmoor. They (212s)wouldn’t be much use on trails, the very soft rubber compound would disappear in no time and the minimal cushioning would cause lots of aching limbs but for an a big sponge like Dartmoor they have been the dogs. Lots of people seem to have durability issues with Inov 8’s though what’re your thoughts?

    October 11, 2010 at 6:26 pm

    • ukmase

      Yep they have been fine, very comfy and pretty grippy underfoot. They are obviously not going to last as long as a boot. The footbeds (innersoles) had cushions in them which fell out but were replaced for free by Inov8.

      I still dont like the idea of wet/damp feet so i have been wearing sealskinz socks to solve that issue. Another plus is i can now have a wee jog when hiking.

      Still not 100% sure about them but i was rather attahced to my Hedgehogs !!

      October 11, 2010 at 8:06 pm

Leave a Reply

