Dont take this seriously….because i dont !!

The month that was July

The month that was July brought about my 31st birthday, I responded the onslaught of age by walking the Yorkshire 3 peaks in a respectable time of 6hrs 16mins.

My car broke down and wiped out my cash for the month, which eventually saw the arrival of my new motor which has brought a smile back to my face. I spent a lot of time reading, so much so that I was going through a book every week fuelled by the easy and cheap supply of books at Amazon. The picture shows some of the books, my favourite so far was minus 148 degrees a true story of the first winter ascent of Denali, mountaineering classic if ever one was wrote. Currently I am reading about the myths and legends surrounding Don Whillans, an amusing read full of eye witness accounts. The Primal Blueprint is a diet/lifestyle book which a friend mentioned around Christmas time, I have never adopted a diet before, me being a lean mean walking machine, but some drops in energy of late means I may well be adopting the 10 point primal lifestyle, possibly more to come on this.

My son passed his National Swimming level and is attending football camp this week so sport and fitness are second nature to him, this is something I always strive for.

I also picked up a new rucksack, the Inov8 Race Pro 30, this is for future lightweight ultra distance hikes I have planned for the future. I have been drawing inspiration from Andrew Skurka on this front who is currently pack rafting around Alaska.

I also adopted a new workout, it’s so simple its hard to believe it would work, but it certainly does, I wont bore anyone with the details, you can check it out here Simplefit.

Train tickets have been booked for the Great Glen Way in October which will see the FC Hikers back in action. Anyway that’s what’s going on with me at the moment.

4 responses

  1. Paul

    The Villain is excellent, I read that sat in a tent in the Alps, something to do whilst it rained and snowed! Citadel of Chaos, well it was bloody tough then, I managed the Warlock of Firetop Mountain, about 25 years ago! As for being primal I eating lamb at 2am, looking forward to weight session I have planned for the morning ;o)

    So what’s the long hike you have planned.

    Ever seen this

    http://lostcoastbike.blogspot.com/

    August 4, 2010 at 1:17 am

  2. ukmase

    I am reading the citadel of chaos to our Thomas each night, he loves it, brilliant way of getting kids into reading.

    No big plans yet for a huge walk, i am just tinkering with a few ideas at the moment.

    Cool pictures of the bike strapped onto the canoe !!

    August 4, 2010 at 11:34 am

    • Paul

      Yeah, yeah I believe you, reading to Thomas gives you the excuse to read the books YOU enjoy, lad must be really enjoying his night time Don Whillan’s yarn!

      Check out this blog, Eric Parsons, he makes the cool frame bags and is the guy in the Lost Coast trip. His blog is here http://epiceric.blogspot.com/ some great trips, bikes, mountains, climbing, foot, and packraft around Alaska.

      This looks hell of a trip
      http://www.bikepacking.net/forum/index.php/topic,309.0.html again by this Eric guy.

      August 4, 2010 at 4:12 pm

      • ukmase

        That picture from the top of the pass is amazing, what a shot.

        August 5, 2010 at 10:28 am

Leave a Reply

