Dont take this seriously….because i dont !!

Welsh 3000 part one

This weekend saw myself, paddy, Peter and gill walk half of the welsh 3000 in bad conditions. We set off towards foel fras and the wind picked up. This was not going to be a day for views of the carneddau, luckily the rain held out but we spent the whole day locked in the clouds.
The foel grach refuge hut gave the only respite from the high gusting winds which hampered our progress. After a late start we decided to setup camp at the shores of llyn lloer at around 2000feet. The tents took a battering during the night with swirling winds meaning a perfect pitch arse end into the wind was not possible, I came away with a bent tent pole and memories of the wildest/windy night I have yet to experience.
I will be returning to Wales soon for part 2 and then again for the full challenge in due course.
Kit wise my new iPhone performed really well with the memory map app and was exactly what I was looking for, it was also cool to be able to watch a movie in the tent. My new innov8 race pro 30 pack was the real winner though, it just seemed to tick all the right boxes for me and was a pleasure to carry, plenty more trips to do before I give it the thumbs up though.

Attached are a few photos taken on the iPhone and my first blog post using the wordpress app.

A few extracts and thoughs of the trip from the Peaceful Hiker forum.

Leave a Reply

