Dont take this seriously….because i dont !!

TGO Challenge Day 10 – Braemar to Gelder Sheil bothie

A quick shower blew away the cobwebs of yesterdays strenuous activities. We decided to use one of our 2 rest days to walk to Gelder Shiel bothie to shorten a long walk. Breakfast turned into a farce first for the veggie brigade and then for myself when I realised I had lost my mobile. It took a while but I eventually bumped in the campsite warden who had found my phone which contained all of my photos and videos.

Dont go to Gordon’s tea rooms for breakfast, the service annoyed us to no end and breakfast was eventually sourced from the Hungry Highlander . Peewiglet recorded a podcast interview with the gang, it’s quite fun meeting people like Shirley who you have gained advice and ideas from via blogs and websites.

We left Braemar via the road and passed Braemar castle which I thought looked much more impressive than the two up two down along the road that the Queen resides in most of the year. Turning off at Invercauld Bridge we headed into Ballochbuie Forest which contained some rather aggressive ants.

Leaving the forest we were treated to the impressive sights of The Princes Stone and I soon spotted the amazing Lochnagar, which I hope to return to one day to tackle the amazing horseshoe-shaped ridge walk. The bothie was literally surrounded by tents, funnily enough the bothie still had bunks and we shared with the lads from Edinburgh; Kenny, Ally and Stuart. The lads passed around a wee nip of whiskey and we shared some banter, I was especially interested in their tales of a winter climb on Lochnagar. A guy from  Buffallo / USA amused me to no end due to the fact he didnt like hiking, which did beg the questions how he had come to find himself camped in the Scottish highlands on a hiking event.

3 responses

  1. leanne

    naughty u didnt tell ne ya losy ya fone lol x

    September 19, 2010 at 7:33 pm

  2. petercrawford

    Leanne,
    He couldn’t tell you he had lost his phone because he had lost his phone. The poor lad was distraught. I just sat around eating black pudding and farting. Always a sound policy in my view.

    September 21, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    • ukmase

      Stressful times, thankgod the bloke at the campsite was an honest chap.

      September 22, 2010 at 11:16 am

Leave a Reply

