Dont take this seriously….because i dont !!

Head of Langdale

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A few months away from the hills was needed to make a big push with my new job. But I couldn’t wait any longer so I set off for Langdale on Friday with my trusty walking partner Pepper laid on the backseat of the motor.

Friday night was spent in the ODG, the Cumberland sausage was a real let down and I don’t understand why they changed the old recipe. On Saturday I woke early, cooked breakfast and packed my gear into the car. We set off around 8:30am and the clouds were covering a view of the tops. The pull up to Pike of Blisco showed my lack of mountain legs and we were treated to a cloud inversion of sorts at the summit. Unfortunately that was the last view I would see until I was back in langdale valley.

Cold Pike didn’t cause any problems but navigation across the top of Crinkle Craggs was a nightmare, even so Pepper did rather well for a dog and quickly picked up the art of scrambling. Bow Fell was next and I must return here to tackle this in full winter conditions. Esk Pike was next and Angel Tarn looks like a top place for a wild camp. Pepper got thrown in the tarn after she decided to roll about in a pile of mud, lessons were earned by the young pup.

One more Wainwright completed the days bagging and it was quick stroll up Rossett Pike. By the time I reached the valley the sun was out and I took a quick video to capture the setting.

Legs are aching now which means one thing, I need to get my arse in gear with training for the Welsh 3000 challenge in July.

3 responses

  1. leanne taylor

    oooo great pepper certainly enjoyed it

    April 19, 2011 at 8:04 am

  2. pauline

    aww. pepper did brilliant considering she’s only 1 1/2. she would have been in her element!
    by the way what does ODG mean?
    will have to come on one of these walks with caesar at some point.

    April 19, 2011 at 10:38 am

    • ukmase

      Old dungeon ghyll

      April 19, 2011 at 2:27 pm

Leave a Reply

