Dont take this seriously….because i dont !!

Buttermere Marathon

I camped at Skye Farm campsite, £8 per night, basic but in a great location and two pubs within 5 mins walk. Very uneven pitching ground for larger tents so beware.

My plan for the day was a route called the Buttermere marathon and what a great route this is. Highly recommended to anyone willing to go a little bit further to secure a few more hills. We had lucked out on the weather but a cool breeze made the going a lot easier.

The walk starts by taking a high path alongside the lake, it’s a long slog over boggy ground to reach Great Borne but the summit is easy enough and has great views to take in. After Great Bourne head to Starling Dodd, the wind on top of this hill was incredible considering how low the wind throughout the rest of the day. The climb to Red Pike gives you a chance to see the whole route laid out and we took the opportunity to shelter from the wind and eat lunch. We had covered quite a bit of ground but the best was still to come.

From High Crag you get amazing views of the ridge that leads to High Crag which beholds an amazing vantage point for viewing Haystacks, Wainwrights favourite hill. The only downside to the full day was the scree slope that descended High Crag but once past this annoying feature it was pure joy heading towards Haystacks.

Haystacks itself is a hill I had read plenty about and the Innominate Tarn was just special, I must come back here for a wild camp, quite literally stunning. We spent half and hour just taking in the surroundings in the warm sun.

There was one more Wainwright left to bag but Woodstock was looking a but tired so Paddy & Gill headed on down. It was a fair old slog up to Fleetwith Pike but again I was rewarded with an amazing view over the valley. I had plenty left in the tank so I jogged down to the valley and to head back to the campsite via a lakeside path rather than the road.

Trust me this walk is so great you must try it, 17 miles, 7 Wainwrights, 9 hours, job done.

Before I end my blog post I would just like to draw attention to the absolute muppet of a landlord from the Fish Hotel. I will never return to this pub again after customer service that beggared belief. Instead I would advise you head to the Bridge Hotel were the food was amazing with hospitality to match. Night night.

4 responses

  1. leanne taylor

    well said the landlord seems a prat glad u enjoyed xxxxxxxxx

    May 2, 2011 at 7:40 pm

  2. pauline

    i’m glad you went to the other pub and finally got a lovely meal. and you enjoyed the hike!xxxxxx

    May 3, 2011 at 10:23 pm

  3. A fine walk indeed. Did that myself a couple of years back. Quite demanding in places, actually. I was absolutely shattered when I got back to the campsite.

    And I concur on the Fish Hotel – 8 times out of 10 the service is bloody awful. The Bridge has a much more homely atmosphere whereas the Fish feels like one of those dodgey pubs you chance upon on the edge of a run down urban area 😉

    May 5, 2011 at 7:35 am

  4. E

    Hi there,

    Any chance you could please drop me an email so I can send you a private message?

    Thanks,
    E

    November 15, 2011 at 12:23 pm

Leave a Reply

