Dont take this seriously….because i dont !!

Great Glen Way Day 5 – Drumnadrochit to Inverness 18 miles

 

We pooled all our food and made a hearty breakfast, Paddy had the thankless task of raising Gill from her pit. I decided to head it Drumnadrochit and track down Nessie. A local shop owner told me to try the Loch Ness Exhibition Centre and I have got to say it was really interesting, plenty of actual facts disproving the myth rather than pandering on a legend. However escaping the gift shop was another story all together.

Paddy & Gill hooked up with me after the Nessie visit but I decided to push onto Inverness alone as I wanted a bit of solitude and to really motor along the track. The guys didn’t take offence, they have been hiking with me long enough now to understand I need my own space every now and again.

The hike out of Drumnadrochit was a slog uphill through a pine forest, which then turned into open moorland with great views of the surrounding areas. This is without doubt the best part of the whole Great Glen Way and even the Old Drovers road was good underfoot. I reached the outskirts of Inverness around 5pm and finished my walk at Inverness Castle at 6pm. Inverness was just starting to get lit up for the night so i waited in a real ale house and ate Haggis for the first time.

Paddy & Gill joined me at 8pm and we celebrated the end of another long distance trail before heading back to the hostel. Mental note – never let Gill book a hostel ever again. I got stalked by a homeless bag lady and it looked  like a homicide had taken place on my bunk bed the previous night. The Highlander Hostel gets 1/10 for me.

Final thoughts on the Great Glen Way

  • Its a perfect winter long distance trail and even the harshest weather would struggle to hanper your efforts
  • The last section to Inverness is without doubt the best days for hiking.
  • Take your time to explore Inverness, Fort Augustus and Drumnadroichit.
  • Morags Lodge in Fort Augustus is a really great hostel to stay in.
  • 4-5 days is the best option for a crossing, although i might try a 2 day attempt nextyear.

Hope you enjoyed my little report, now what shall i do next, any ideas ?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 responses

  1. peter crawford

    I suggest you go for a walk in the Lake District. Or had you already thought of that ? Damn. It’s such a fine line between stupid and clever.

    November 23, 2010 at 8:35 pm

  2. pauline

    love the scenery. plus the statue of loch ness monster is brilliant.

    November 26, 2010 at 8:54 am

  3. leanne

    certainly enjoyed it…….cant wait for ya next report involving pepper x

    November 27, 2010 at 1:29 pm

Leave a comment